About a third of Pennsyvania’s 1,488 highway fatalities involved a driver who was over the legal limit. 310 of those fatalities involved a driver who was at least twice the legal limit.
Pennsylvania has four levels of impairment:
Additionally, those under 21 are not allowed to drive with a BAC of higher than .02.
For Commercial Drivers, the legal limit is .04.
For School Bus Drivers, the legal limit is .02.
Driving While Impaired or Intoxicated:
High Rate of Alcohol, Under 21, School Bus Drivers, and Commercial Drivers
Highest Rate of Alcohol
At the court’s discretion, up to 150 hours of community service may be attached to any offender’s sentence.
At the court’s discretion, the defendant may be required to attend a victim impact panel. This is a non-confrontational session with the friends, family, and neighbors of drunk driving victims. The program may also involve a fee.
If a person has had their license suspended and petitions the court for restoration of his driving privileges the court will require the installation of an ignition interlock system for the duration of the driving restriction. The system will be calibrated so that the car will not start if the breath test shows a BAC of greater than .025.
If you are required to use an ignition interlock system and are caught driving a car without one, the penalty is a $300 - $1,000 fine and/or up to 90 days in jail. The same penalty applies for tampering with an ignition interlock system.
If you are required to use an ignition interlock and are caught driving a car without one AND have a BAC of greater than .025, the minimum fine is $1,000 and the minimum jail time is 90 days.
All offenders of in Pennsylvania are required to undergo Drug and Alcohol Assessment in order to determine which sentence would be the most beneficial to the individual and to the state.
The following violations result in an 18 month license suspension:
All other violations under the code result in a 12 month license suspension.