Go to navigation Go to content

Wyoming DUI Law

It is illegal in Wyoming to drive with a BAC of .08 or greater or while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol to the extent that it prevents you from driving safely.

Penalties

First Conviction:

The first conviction will result in a fine of up to $750 and/or prison for a period of up to 6 months. There is no mandatory minimum fine or jail time.

Second Conviction:

The second conviction in a five year span is punishable by a fine of up to $750 fine and up to 6 months in prison. The mandatory minimum sentence is 7 days and $200.

Third Conviction:

The third conviction in a five year span is punishable by up to 6 months in prison and a fine of up to $3,000. The mandatory minimum sentence is 30 days and a fine of $750. However, up to 15 days may be suspended if the offender completes an inpatient treatment program approved by the court.

Fourth Conviction:

The fourth and subsequent conviction in a five year span will result in a fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail term of up to two years.

Causing Serious Bodily Injury

If your drunk driving causes an accident that results in the reasonable likelihood of death of another, causes miscarriage, or serious permanent disfigurement the penalties increase. First offenders will be fined $2,000 - $5,000 and imprisoned for 6 months to a year. Those with previous offenses will be imprisoned for up to twenty years.

Substance Abuse Assessment

For any conviction the court will order that the offender receive a substance abuse assessment prior to sentencing. The offender will be responsible for the cost of the assessment and the assessment will be used in determining the appropriate sentence.

License Suspension

The first DUI conviction will result in a suspension of 90 days.

The second DUI conviction in a five year span will result in a suspension of 1 year.

The third DUI conviction in a five year span will result in a suspension of 5 years.

Under 21

If you are under 21 and have a BAC of .02 or greater, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days and you may be fined up to $750.